Sunday, 25 November 2012

Born at Midnight Series by C.C. Hunter

Title: Born at Midnight, Awake at Dawn, Taken at Dusk, Whispers at Moonrise
Author: C. C. Hunter
Series: Born at Midnight #1, #2, #3, #4
Genre: Young Adult, Romance, Fantasy, Magic, Werewolves, Vampires, Witches, Mystery
Source: Kindle
Rating: 4 stars

Available at:

My Review:

Because I am reviewing 4 books in 1 post, I am going to switch things up and post my review first, then the blurbs for each book underneath.

This book had been on a 'Maybe' list for a long time, so I decided to take a chance and read it. It was a pretty easy read, if not frustrating at points. I think my biggest beef with the series thus far (because there is one more book coming out in April 2013) was the fact that with every book, the main character, Kylie, bounces back and forth between two guys. It would have been better if the author had made it a suspense thing where there was the obvious attraction between Kylie and ONE guy, but for what ever reason they couldn't be together until near the forth book or something. It would have drawn my attention more than the ping pong act that is currently going on.

Another pet peeve of mine with book was the fact that I waited three books to find out what Kylie was, and it wasn't really this big moment at all. It was at the end of the third book, in the last paragraph, and a ghost comes and tells her, "Hey, by the way, you're a ______" (I wont ruin the surprise for you ;p you have to read it yourselves) I just felt that there should have been more of an adventure finding out who she was rather than it being given to her on a silver platter in the last paragraph of the book. That's not to say that she hasn't gone to huge lengths to find out what she is, but the revelation was extremely anti climatic and disappointing.

Although the first three books I found rather tedious to get though, the fourth book really made it better for me. She now knew WHAT she was, but she doesn't know what that what was. (did that make sense?) So now she has to discover what being a _______ is. We also had the new aspect of the school growing in session, although I would have liked to see more of that in the book, it was kind of a footnote three quarters of the way in. And there was no buildup with the 'bad guy' so to speak. He was just kind of thrown in there.

The last thing I want to say is that I am really excited for the last book of the series. The first three books I mainly read because I was dying to know what the hell she was and I was willing to follow the author in how Kylie got there, and the fourth book I actually really enjoyed, but this last book, that I am psyched for. We get to learn more about the abilities Kylie has and the culture around her species (is that a good word for it?) I'm excited to see how she interacts with her 'people'. And, of course, she finally chooses a guy (although the fourth book kind of implies who she is going to choose).

Now the rating for this book is a bit tricky... Overall, as a series, the book gets 4 stars, loosing points for the confusing relationship status between her and Lucas and Derek and the way the author dealt with what species Kylie was and the revelation of it. 

Blurbs: (via Goodreads)

Book 1- Born at Midnight-
One night Kylie Galen finds herself at the wrong party, with the wrong people, and it changes her life forever.  Her mother ships her off to Shadow Falls—a camp for troubled teens, and within hours of arriving, it becomes painfully clear that her fellow campers aren’t just “troubled.”  Here at Shadow Falls, vampires, werewolves, shapshifters, witches and fairies train side by side—learning to harness their powers, control their magic and live in the normal world.

Kylie’s never felt normal, but surely she doesn’t belong here with a bunch of paranormal freaks either.  Or does she?  They insist Kylie is one of them, and that she was brought here for a reason.  As if life wasn’t complicated enough, enter Derek and Lucas.  Derek’s a half-fae who’s determined to be her boyfriend, and Lucas is a smokin’ hot werewolf with whom Kylie shares a secret past.  Both Derek and Lucas couldn’t be more different, but they both have a powerful hold on her heart.

Even though Kylie feels deeply uncertain about everything, one thing is becoming painfully clear—Shadow Falls is exactly where she belongs…

Book 2- Awake at Dawn-
From the moment Kylie Galen arrived at Shadow Falls Camp, she's had one burning question: What am I? Surrounded by vampires, werewolves, shape-shifters, fairies and witches, Kylie longs to figure out her own supernatural identity…and what her burgeoning powers mean. And now she'll need them more than ever, because she's being haunted by a new spirit who insists that someone Kylie knows—and loves—will die before the end of the summer. If only she only knew who she was supposed to save. And how…

But giving Kylie the most trouble is her aching heart. Gorgeous werewolf Lucas left camp with another girl, but he's still visiting Kylie in her dreams.  And Derek, a sexy half Fae who's always been there for her when she needed him, is pushing to get more serious—and growing impatient, especially when Lucas returns. Kylie knows she needs to decide between the boys, and it's tearing her up inside. 

Yet romance will have to wait, because something from the dark side of the supernatural world is hiding in Shadow Falls. It's about to threaten everything she holds dear…and bring her closer to her destiny.

Book 3- Taken at Dusk-
Kylie Galen wants the truth so badly she can taste it. The truth about who her real family is, the truth about which boy she’s meant to be with—and the truth about what her emerging powers mean.  But she’s about to discover that some secrets can change your life forever…and not always for the better.

Just when she and Lucas are finally getting close, she learns that his pack has forbidden them from being together.  Was it a mistake to pick him over Derek? And it’s not just romance troubling Kylie. An amnesia-stricken ghost is haunting her, delivering the frightful warning, someone lives and someone dies. As Kylie races to unravel the mystery and protect those she loves, she finally unlocks the truth about her supernatural identity, which is far different—and more astonishing—than she ever imagined.

Book 4- Whispers at Moonrise-
Even at a camp for supernatural teens, Kylie Galen has never been normal. Not only can she see ghosts, but she doesn’t seem to belong to any one species—she exhibits traits from them all. As Kylie struggles to unlock the secrets of her identity, she begins to worry that Lucas will never be able to accept her for what she is, and what she isn’t…a werewolf.  With his pack standing in their way, Kylie finds herself turning more and more to Derek, the only person in her life who’s willing to accept the impossible.

As if life isn’t hard enough, she starts getting visits from the ghost of Holiday, her closest confidante.  Trouble is, Holiday isn’t dead…not yet anyway.  Now Kylie must race to save one of her own from an unseen danger before it’s too late—all while trying to stop her relationship with Lucas from slipping away forever.   In a world of constant confusion, there’s only one thing Kylie knows for sure.  Change is inevitable and all things must come to an end…maybe even her time at Shadow Falls.

No comments:

Post a Comment